Fountain Pen Restoration

Wilson Fountain Pen Advertising

On February 9, 2009 I wrote an article Imitation is the Sincerest Form of Flattery – The Wilson Pen Company. It focused on a Parker Vacumatic “look-a-like” fountain pen, produced in India.

After the restoration of that pen and the writing of the article, I was fortunate to find very colorful box that Wilson apparently used to display and/or ship these pens.  It measures 5 1/2″ by 6 3/4″ and held ten pens in metal slots.

Photobucket

The art is interesting.  I believe the attempt is to compare the pen to a smooth sailing boat.  In the photo below I have inserted the pen from the previously referenced post.  Clearly, the same model but in a different color.  I wonder if they came in blues, reds, or blacks, to match the other common Vacumatic colors?

Photobucket

10-12-13 Edit: An outstanding piece, written by Purvi Sanghvi, a relative of the founders of Wilson Pens, can be found here. It details some of the history of Wilson Pens!

July 20, 2009 - Posted by | Wilson Pen Company |

4 Comments »

  1. The Only Guaranteed Fountain Pen? That’s quite a claim. I wonder how they managed to get away wit that statement? Regardless, it probably was a very good value.

    Comment by Jon | July 20, 2009 | Reply

  2. I found my grandfathers very old WILSON fountain pens.The one in the image given above and also few more with jotter ink but most of them have problems now.Just trying to fgure out a way to get them restored in india

    Comment by tushar | March 5, 2010 | Reply

  3. […] that was visited by salesmen from all over the country who came to negotiate and buy pens and other Wilson stationery. Soon the pens were also being exported to several […]

    Pingback by 122 – “My family made the pen that wrote the Constitution of India” :: Indian Memory Project | October 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. I am fortunate that I have this pen which actually belongs to my grandfather in an era of 30’s-40’s but unfortunately he is no more.

    Comment by Ali | July 31, 2021 | Reply


Leave a comment