Fountain Pen Restoration

Another Pepsi (Pen) Please

I first restored and discussed a Pepsi Fountain Pen back on September 7, 2009 ~ Pepsi Fountain Pen.

Here is another look at Pepsi and Pete touting the wholesome drink.

 photo DSC_0001.jpg

And a collage of the previous restoration.

 photo CCA50776-9B6B-42D2-A936-6E5738549FD3-2947-000005145087B367.jpg

This month, I discovered another of these unique late 30s pens, and it was in surprisingly good condition.  As discussed previously, these are often found with very poor clips.  In my previous post, the clip was found in such poor condition, that I simply cleaned it down to the gold plate.  Though not perfect, this pen has as good a clip as I have seen.

Further evidence that it was not used and preserved somewhere fairly secure is the sac, section and general overall color of the pen.  There was no evidence of the pen being used as the sac, section, feed and nib are void of any ink residue.

As you can see, I did take the pen apart, showing the good condition the pen is in.

 photo DSC_0006_zps5bcbd884.jpg

I simply inserted a size 16 clear sac, and cleaned up the barrel and cap a bit.  The nib/section/feed was clean, so I simply reinserted into the barrel with the new clear sac.

Below is the restored, or cleaned up pen, ready to write.

 photo DSC_0007_zpse2850760.jpg

Here is a photo of the new pen above the pen I restored back in 2009.  Quite a difference, and it is nice to catch a glimpse of the Pepsi Bottle.  The labeling is almost identical to the Post Card Advertisement shown above.

 photo DSC_0011_zps9d5e0af1.jpg

In the time that I had this pen waiting to be cleaned, I ran across a bullet pencil and pen knife from around the same time period.  Not quite as clean, they do show that Pepsi was quite active in promoting their product.

 photo DSC_0010_zps944c11d0.jpg

Here is a close up of the pristine “Signature 6” nib.   Gold plated, and with no tipping material to speak of, it is still a good example of the nib that originally came with this pen.

 photo DSC_0017_zpsa26a9c20.jpg

As mentioned in my earlier post in 2009, no other soft drink maker appeared with promotional pens that I have seen as early as this one, which is probably from the late 1930s.  Speculation is that Eagle was the manufacturer, but I have not seen any advertising or documentation prove this.

March 20, 2014 - Posted by | Pepsi Fountain Pen |

2 Comments »

  1. Phil, are you from West Bend Iowa:? I am Susie Eichelzer and am recently into fountain pens and found your website.
    I have bought a Webster tonight, a very simple design and it is a bladder feed one. Any comments on that?
    Good night.

    Comment by Susie Eichelzer Hagedorn | April 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Susie,

      I am not from West Bend. I am from further north in Minnesota. Webster’s were very nice pens, made by a few different manufacturers, and often sold at Sears.

      Comment by PKM | April 6, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

